Mountain Bike Champ Arrested for Marijuana

22 06 2009

Former mountain biking world champion Melissa “Missy” Giove is being held on $250,000 bail after feds seized more than 200 lbs of pot from a truck she was driving in upstate New York.

Heres the full story

In court Thursday, public defender Tim Austin said the drugs and money were planted in Giove’s truck, possibly by police.

nope. no drugs there.

nope. no drugs there.

Now, im not one to defend police, especially those in New York but lets be serious here. The cops planted the pot in this womans vehicle? Uh, yeah…okay. Sure, theres no way that shes up to something, after all, only the best of drugs could make you want to do that to your hair. And i know that doping for “performance enhancement” doesn’t, so pot is the likely culprit.

It just so happens that I was in NY this past weekend to do some mountain biking. Trying to brush up on my cross skills as im in the process of deciding on racing again this year or not. The mountains seemed to be a logical place to practice and “get away from it all”. However between the continual downpour and flooding it only made me question my sanity and wonder why I ride a bike at all. Somehow I avoided death, although through no fault of my own. I didnt think I possessed the requisite “tech” skill for this type of riding but somehow i survived and even got a few shots in the breaks in the rain like this one:

note the conspicously placed handlebars

note the conspicously placed handlebars

although mush of what i was riding through was gravel and mud, and oh yeah a few small bodies of water that were more lakes than puddles.

fun? yes, in the sense that the constant fear of ones demise is fun.

fun? yes, in the sense that the constant fear of ones demise is fun.

Still a fun weekend, I wish I had taken more pictures, but I had a death grip on the bars rather than my phones camera.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

