David Byrne: On Bikes and Cities

22 06 2011

Momentum mag has a short but good article with Talking Head David Byrne.

“I haven’t wanted to be a real advocate or proselytizer,” he said in a phone interview from New York. “But if I sense that people are kind of ready and willing to try something, later I’ll say, ‘Well yes, this is how you do it, and this is how it’s done, and this is my experience, and the rest is up to you’.”

While I don’t agree with some of his points (for example I’ve found a hero in Miami City Manager-Hector Mirabile and in true South Miami style I feel that people shouldn’t do things when they are ready, but more so just do what I say when I say it) he is in a unique position for cycling advocacy, and should utilize it. If only he had included the reason people such as myself and Nattefrost are cyclists, for the vomiting.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

